Getting Help

“I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief” – Mark 9: 24

Help my unbelief

Help my unbelief

It is hard to admit one’s weakness. The world thinks of not talking about the weakness. So people hide their weakness and pretend to be strong.

But the Word of God calls us to be realistic and get help. The Father of the boy with evil spirit confessed his weakness to Jesus and asked for help.

When we come to Jesus, seeking help is not humiliation but the right thing to do. To men we can hide but to Jesus the wisest thing is to confess and ask him to help.

The father of the boy did that. He said, I do believe but I am not sure if it is enough. I also know that there is a part of me which brings doubt in my mind. So Jesus, help me overcome my unbelief. This humble attitude and submissive prayer saved his son.

Remember Peter who said even if all fall away, I will not (Mark 14: 29). If only he had been humble and asked Jesus to strengthen him, he might not have denied Jesus. But he boasted of his ability and strength but God had to show him his weakness.

In our lives also realistic self-evaluation is necessary. Many times we think of ourselves as more than what we are. We imagine ourselves to be better than everyone else. But God wants us to seek him humbly so that he will supply strength wherever we are weak.

Be humble! Confess! Get help! God will be your strength.

Humble prayer can save!

Humble prayer can save!

About Rev. John Jebaseelan

A Servant of God who strives to live a Word-abiding Life and bring glory to God.
This entry was posted in Crisis, Mark and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

